HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2019-4613, by Representatives Chopp, Wilcox, Appleton, Barkis, Bergquist, Blake, Boehnke, Caldier, Callan, Chambers, Chandler, Chapman, Cody, Corry, Davis, DeBolt, Dent, Doglio, Dolan, Dufault, Dye, Entenman, Eslick, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Frame, Gildon, Goehner, Goodman, Graham, Gregerson, Griffey, Hansen, Harris, Hoff, Hudgins, Irwin, Jenkin, Jinkins, Kilduff, Kirby, Klippert, Kloba, Kraft, Kretz, Leavitt, Lekanoff, Lovick, MacEwen, Macri, Maycumber, McCaslin, Mead, Morgan, Morris, Mosbrucker, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Paul, Pellicciotti, Peterson, Pettigrew, Pollet, Ramos, Reeves, Riccelli, Robinson, Rude, Ryu, Santos, Schmick, Sells, Senn, Shea, Shewmake, Slatter, Smith, Springer, Stanford, Steele, Stokesbary, Stonier, Sullivan, Sutherland, Tarleton, Thai, Tharinger, Valdez, Van Werven, Vick, Volz, Walen, Walsh, Wylie, Ybarra, and Young

1 WHEREAS, George Washington, the first president of the United 2 States, who led the Continental Army to victory as Major General and 3 Commander-in-Chief of Revolutionary forces against Great Britain, and 4 dedicated his life to public service, was unanimously elected as the 5 first president at the constitutional convention; and

6 WHEREAS, Washington established precedent that subsequent 7 administrations would follow by leading with valor, respect, and 8 determination to ensure the United States would not succumb to a new 9 monarchy and that our young country would thrive; and

10 WHEREAS, Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United 11 States, recognized that all were entitled to "certain inalienable 12 rights" and wrote the Declaration of Independence in pursuit of that 13 promise; and

14 WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United 15 States, who possessed unparalleled tact, resolve, and skill to lead 16 in divisive times, reaffirmed that life, liberty, and the pursuit of 17 happiness were rights belonging to all Americans; and

WHEREAS, Lincoln's administration ensured that "government of the people, by the people, for the people" did not perish from the Earth; and

21 WHEREAS, Theodore Roosevelt, the twenty-sixth president of the 22 United States of America, recognized that the beauty and majesty of 23 America was to be enjoyed by all and established the National Forest

p. 1

Service in order to protect and preserve American lands, forests, and 1 2 species from companies and individuals who might disrupt these 3 wonders; 4 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this eighteenth day of 5 February, 2019, the House of Representatives recognize and 6 commemorate the work of our great presidents throughout our nation's 7 history. 8 9 I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of 10 Resolution 4613 adopted by the House of Representatives February 18, 2019 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk